You may or may have not heard about the 5 principles of Reiki by Dr. Mikao Usui. Just like any other spiritual practice, Reiki bases itself on a set of principles. This set of principles resemble a lot like affirmations or intentional thinking. To practice and incorporate Reiki principles into your daily routine is not rocket science nor time-consuming. They offer guidance for connecting with your Reiki energy by focusing on the present. This may help boost your sense of your surroundings and well-being in various ways.

What are the Reiki principles?

Just for today, I will not worry,
Just for today, I will not be angry,
Just for today, I will be grateful,
Just for today, I recognize my consciousness,
Just for today, I will be kind to every living thing

There are 5 Reiki principles. The philosophy is that this set of principles offer guidance for healing and leading a healthy and fulfilled life. You can use the Reiki principles as mantras to help guide you through each day or any difficult situations you may encounter.
Let’s see what the principles are and how you can incorporate them into your day-to-day life.

How to incorporate Reiki principles into our daily routines

1. Just for today I will not worry

Many of us can surely say that we worry about things that haven’t even happened yet. It may be easy to feel like this worry comes from an outside source, Reiki tends to find the source from within us.
Say “Just for today, I release thoughts of worry”. Be mindful. Take two deep breaths and release worry energy with each exhale. Think about similar situations from your past and present and try to find any connection between them.

2. Just for today, I will not be angry

Anger is a completely normal emotion, and it can be triggered by many different scenarios. Reiki suggests that anger doesn’t come from outside events, but rather the energy is already within us. This principle encourages you to let go of this negative energy.
You can say “Just for today, I release angry thoughts”. Think about where this emotion comes from and learn to recognize it. This principle focuses on getting to know yourself and improving your relationship with your angry thoughts.

3. Just for today, I will be grateful

This principle is a reminder to try and see all the good in your life, express gratitude, and help you cultivate more positive energy. Sometimes we keep on asking for more and trying to get what we don’t have. When we start being grateful for what we have, we will start attracting more good into our lives.
Say “Just for today, I will be grateful”. This involves the act of being thankful. Take a deep breath and pause to think about all the things you’re thankful for. Allow your heart to be full with each thought.

4. Just for today, I recognize my consciousness

When practicing Reiki, being mindful is the key to achieving balance in your energy. This Reiki principle encourages you to acknowledge how conscious you have become and appreciate being present in the moment.
Start by saying “Just for today, I recognize my consciousness”. Next, visualize when you have recently experienced greater consciousness, for example:

  • Doing some sort of mediation
  • Feeling grateful
  • Being present at the moment
  • Going on for a walk

5. Just for today, I will be kind to every living thing

The fifth Reiki principle focuses on kindness to others and how it lets you receive positive energy in return. It urges you to be kind not just to others but to yourself too. This is an essential part of your spiritual healing.
Try saying “Just for today, I will be kind to every living thing, including myself”. Think about situations where you may have been unkind and recognize it. Take two deep breaths in, breathing positive energy in releasing negative energy out with every exhale.

It might seem impossible and overwhelming trying to live our lives by these 5 principles. It’s important that we take small steps in the beginning. Try to practice this every day and anytime you’re in a difficult situation. Trust your intuition. Don’t be afraid to ask for guidance from your higher self. Remember, change is a slow process but never lose faith in yourself.